I'm an energy saving blogger

Phew! At last it’s Energy Saving Week. We’re going to be tweeting and blogging up a storm this week. We’ve sent a hand-picked selection of MPs an energy-saving questionnaire and will be sharing their answers. We’ve invited guests and themed posts from around the country – and today we’re guest-blogging at both Confused.com and at EnergyRethinking. (Confused.com is also going to host a live Energy Saving Week Q&A; we’ll keep you posted!) For information on the real-world events happening in your area, you can check the Energy Saving Week page on our website.

Here on the blog, however, we are thrilled to kick off the proceedings with special messages from not one but two Government Ministers.

Greg Barker MP, Minister of State for Energy and Climate Change

Welcome to the Energy Saving Week’s blog. I hope that you’ll be thinking about what you can do to save energy this week and for many more to come.

People often ask me what’s the one thing they can do to stop wasting energy. I always reply that insulation is the best way to make your home warmer and cheaper to run. Saving energy is a no brainer. It cuts carbon emissions and it can save money off fuel bills. That’s why the coalition government will soon be launching the Green Deal – a massive and long overdue overhaul of the energy efficiency of Britain’s homes and businesses.

My priority at the moment is to make sure the coalition government leads by example. We have pledged to cut emissions in our first year by 10%.

Savings are being achieved through common sense measures as simple as not heating and cooling buildings at the same time or turning off IT equipment when not in use. We promised we’d be the greenest government ever and we mean it.

Jane Davidson AM, Welsh Assembly Government Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing

 

Every individual has a key role to play in achieving the carbon emissions targets in the Climate Change Strategy for Wales. There are many every day things that people can do to save energy and save money, that will have a direct impact on the future of our planet. Energy Saving Week is a fantastic campaign which highlights the ways in which we can all take control of our energy usage and save money on our monthly energy bills.

People often ask me what I do to save energy and whether I have any top tips. I have taken a number of simple energy saving measures in my home such as changing my boiler, having insulation installed, using energy saving light bulbs and turning my thermostat down.

Two areas that I have recently tried to tackle are travel and water.

I try to cycle to work as often as I can (providing it’s not raining!) and have found that it saves me money whilst also keeping me fit.

I have found that it has been easy to adapt my water usage by making small changes such as always putting full loads in the dishwasher/washing machine, only boiling as much water as I need and installing a water butt for watering my plants and washing my car. I have also managed to cut a minute off my daily shower – saving both water and energy!