Guest post by Marian Spain, Director of Strategy, Energy Saving Trust

Ed_Miliband01

Tuesday was the launch of Ecobuild 2010 at Earls Court and it certainly went with a bang! The day kicked off with Department of Energy and Climate Change Secretary of State Ed Miliband visiting the Energy Saving Trust stand. I got to show him around our ‘Eco-Home’ and introduce him to members of the Energy Saving Trust team. He was especially interested to hear how the Pay As You Save pilots were going.

He was visiting the event to launch the new Warm Homes, Greener Homes: A Strategy for Household Energy Management. We all know how expensive it can be to upgrade our homes; I especially can understand as at the moment as I want to insulate the solid wall and flat roof in my home (so I took the chance to get some expert advice from other exhibitors at Ecobuild).  The Warm Homes, Greener Homes announcement plans to roll out a Pay As You Save scheme nationwide and will give homeowner’s access to innovative financing mechanism. This would help me upgrade my home and I am sure other home owners will appreciate this Government support.

This year’s Ecobuild is heavily populated with the Energy Saving Trust spokespeople – already Mat Colmer (Head of Housing and Supply Chain), Rob Lewis (Strategy Manager – Renewables) and Philip Sellwood (Chief Executive) have been in action on the main stage. More to follow over the next few days. I recommend popping down as it’s a free event and lots of interesting stands to visit, talks to attend and people to meet to discus an eco upgrade to your home.