Jack Bauer

Reassessing the threat – is climate change now

public enemy no. 1 for Jack Bauer?

Well we know we’ve made it now don’t we?! I saw on TV and  in the press yesterday that 24 – the very popular Fox programme featuring maverick agent Jack Bauer – is to take on the challenge of climate change. I am not sure whether to be encouraged by this development or worried about its potential to further trivialise the issue. I can see that the Murdoch empire and the producers of 24 may be well intentioned, but I can’t help but feel it could lead to people thinking that climate change is as fictional as the programme itself. On the other hand, part of me thinks that anything that gets this hugely important agenda item into the public domain is worthwhile. I would be interested to hear people’s views as Fox have made it clear that they are going to make this a major part of their autumn programme. Hey what next? Dot Cotton and global warming!