Hi there. I never thought I would actually get around to doing a Blog, but the more I have been looking at other people’s sites over the last few months, the more I realise in this game that you have to use all of the avenues of communication to get across what is, after all, one of the most important topics of our time – climate change and the future of our planet.

All very worthy I hear you say, but how relevant is one person’s view in what is becoming a congested area of conversation. Well, having spoken to people across the climate change sector from chief executives of power companies, senior Government ministers to the home owner, I’d like to think I know what I’m talking about! But, what I am particularly interested in is getting responses and reactions from other like minded people – like you. How we attempt to resolve the climate change issue is constantly evolving and I am quite happy to unashamedly steal any good ideas you may have and put them into practice on behalf of the organisation I represent.

I have come to this agenda rather later than most having previously worked in the commercial sector. What I have learned after five years at the Energy Saving Trust is the importance of engaging with and bringing on board as many people and organisations as possible to our cause. We have to be inclusive, not exclusive. Only by working with individuals, Government, local authorities and – yes – probably even large companies can we begin to crack the problem of climate change.